Home
  Center For Southeast Asian Studies

University of Wisconsin-Madison
   Support Us
Donate
 

 

 

 

Language Teaching Staff

Dian Mawene, Indonesian Language Teaching Assistant - Email: mawene@wisc.edu

Hong Thi Dinh, Vietnamese Language Lecturer - Email: hdinh@wisc.edu

Kannikar Elbow, Thai Language Lecturer - Email: kchanpra@wisc.edu

Choua Lee, Hmong Language Lecturer - Email: lee2@wisc.edu

Sheila Zamar, Filipino Language Lecturer - Email: szamar@wisc.edu

Faculty and Other Teaching Staff

(Center For Southeast Asian Studies Administrative Staff )

Lois A. Anderson, PhD (UCLA) EMERITUS
Emeritus Professor of Ethnomusicology, School of of Music
Email: lama@wisc.edu

Larry Ashmun, MA (Northern Illinois)
Southeast Asian Studies Bibliographer, UW-Madison Libraries
Email: lashmun@library.wisc.edu

Ian Baird, PhD (University of British Columbia)
Assistant Professor of Geography, Department of Geography
E-mail: ibaird@wisc.edu

Erlin Barnard, PhD (Leeds Metropolitan University)
Pedagogy Coordinator for Less Commonly Taught Languages (LCTL), Department of Languages and Cultures of Asia
Email: esbarnard@wisc.edu

Robert J. Bickner, PhD (Michigan) EMERITUS
Professor, Department of Languages and Cultures of Asia
Email: rbickner@wisc.edu

Katherine Bowie, PhD (Chicago)
Professor, Department of Anthropology

Email: kabowie@wisc.edu

Peggy Choy, MA (Michigan, UW-Madison)
Assistant Professor, Dance Program and Asian American Studies.

Email: pachoy@wisc.edu

J. Lin Compton, PhD (Michigan) EMERITUS
Professor of Development Education, Social Forestry, International Agriculture and Asian Studies in the Department of Forest Ecology and Management
and Chair of Doctoral Program in Development studies in the Land Tenure Center.
Email: lcompton@wisc.edu

Dustin C. Cowell, PhD (UC-San Diego)
Professor of the Department of African Languages and Literature. Past president of the Consortium for the Teaching of Indonesian.
Email: dccowell@wisc.edu

Ian Coxhead, PhD (Australian National University)
Professor,Department of Agricultural and Applied Economics Director of the Center for Southeast Asian Studies (2002-2005).
Email: coxhead@wisc.edu

Michael Cullinane, PhD (Michigan)
Associate Director, Center for Southeast Asian Studies, and Lecturer, Department of History
Email:mmcullin@wisc.edu

Daniel F. Doeppers, PhD (Syracuse) EMERITUS
Emeritus Professor, Department of Geography

Email: dfdoeppe@wisc.edu

Anna M. Gade, PhD (Chicago)
Vilas Distinguished Achievement Professor, Nelson Institute for Environmental Studies
Email: amgade@wisc.edu

Albert C. Gunther, PhD (Stanford)
Professor, School of Journalism and Mass Communication
Email: agunther@wisc.edu

Anne R. Hansen, PhD (Harvard) - Director, Center for Southeast Asian Studies
Professor, Department of History
Email: arhansen@wisc.edu

Isao Kamata, PhD (University of Michigan)
Assistant Professor, Robert M. La Follette School of Public Affairs
Email: ikamata@lafollette.wisc.edu

Nam Kim, PhD (University of Illinois-Chicago)
Assistant Professor, Department of Anthropology
Email: nckim2@wisc.edu

Ian Lowman, PhD (UC-Berkeley)
Postdoctoral Fellow, Department of Languages and Cultures of Asia
Email: inlowman@wisc.edu

Marlys A. Macken, PhD (Stanford University)
Professor, Department of Linguistics
Email: macken@wisc.edu

Alfred W. McCoy, PhD (Yale)
Professor, Department of History
Email: awmccoy@wisc.edu

Mary E. McCoy, PhD (Northwestern University)
Faculty Associate, Department of Communication Arts
Director of Advancement and Outreach, Center for Southeast Asian Studies
Email: mccoy2@wisc.edu

Russell Middleton, PhD (Texas) EMERITUS
Emeritus Professor, Department of Sociology
Email:middleto@ssc.wisc.edu

Jenna Nobles, PhD (UCLA)
Assistant Professor, Department of Sociology
Email: jnobles@ssc.wisc.edu

Kristopher Olds, PhD (University of Bristol)
Associate Professor, Department of Geography
Email: olds@geography.wisc.edu

Ruby Paredes, PhD (Michigan)
Email: ruby.paredes@mail.admin.wisc.edu

Patcharin Peyasantiwong, PhD (Michigan)
Summer Lecturer in Thai, College Year in Thailand

Email: ppeyasan@wisc.edu

Ellen Rafferty, PhD (SUNY Binghamton)
Professor, Indonesian Language and Culture, Department of Languages and Cultures of Asia.
Past president of the Consortium for the Teaching of Indonesian.
Email: emraffer@wisc.edu

Mark Sidel, PhD (Columbia Law School)
Doyle-Bascom Professor of Law, Law SchoolEmail: sidel@wisc.edu

Thongchai Winichakul, PhD (University of Sydney)
Professor in the Department of  History. Director of the Center for Southeast Asian Studies (1997-99).
Email: twinicha@wisc.edu

Mary Jo Wilson, MA (UW-Madison)
SEASSI Coordinator, Center for Southeast Asian Studies
Email: wilson6@wisc.edu

Zhou Yongming , PhD (Duke University)
Professor in the Department of Anthropology.
Email: yongmingzhou@wisc.edu

 

AFFILIATED SCHOLARS

Taylor Easum, Assistant Professor, History, University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point
Email: Taylor.Easum@uwsp.edu

Cheong Soon Gan, Assistant Professor, History, University of Wisconsin-Superior
Email: cgan@uwsuperior.edu

Kathleen Gillogly, Associate Professor, Anthropology, University of Wisconsin-Parkside
Email: gillogly@uwp.edu

Ingrid Jordt, Associate Professor, Anthropology, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee
Email: jordt@uwm.edu

Eunsook Jung, Assistant Professor, Political Science, University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire
Email: eunsookjung@gmail.com

Mai Na Lee, Assistant Professor, History & Asian American Studies, University of Minnesota;
co-director of UW-UM Hmong Studies Consortium
Email: mainalee@umn.edu

Mitchell Ogden, Assistant Professor, English, University of Wisconsin-Stout
Email: ogdenm@uwstout.edu

 

 

 

UW-Madison | Search | Home

Center for Southeast Asian Studies
University of Wisconsin-Madison
207 Ingraham Hall
1155 Observatory Drive
Madison, WI 53706-1397
phone: (608) 263-1755
fax: (608) 263-3735
e-mail: seasia@intl-institute.wisc.edu